logo
  • courses
  • >
  • UTAH WORKPLACE DRUG & ALCOHOL TESTING LAWS

UTAH WORKPLACE DRUG & ALCOHOL TESTING LAWS


Course Overview

•Under Utah law there are drug and alcohol testing requirements set by statute that employers must follow to be afforded the protections that this state law offers. The intent when creating the statute was to provide a healthy, safe, and productive workplace free from the effect of drugs and alcohol. The State of Utah found that the importance of producing quality products and services is important to employers, employees and the general public.

•The legislature further supported the law with evidence that there was an increased risk of injuries, absenteeism, and financial burdens created by drug and alcohol abuse in the workplace and that, to prevent this risk, the statute was necessary. Unemployment and Workers’ Compensation benefits can be denied if the employer follows the requirements under the drug and alcohol statute. Employers must also follow all the requirements under the specific unemployment or workers’ compensation statute as well to be afforded their respective protections. 

•An employee may seek damages or job reinstatement if the employer’s test results were inaccurate.   However, overall, the statute prevents employees from bringing legal challenges against employers who comply with the rules in the statute in good faith.

Objectives

Upon successful completion of this course students will be able to:

1. Determine the workplace testing options afforded to private employers in Utah;

2. Determine the restrictions on workplace testing for private employers in Utah; and

3. Demonstrate an understanding of key workplace testing concepts particular to Utah.

Quantity: Price Per Credit:
1+ $99,999.00

$99,999.00



Share This Course


People also view...